Grieve not the Holy Spirit

“We lose both the power and pleasure of our obedience for want of this consideration. The Holy Ghost undertakes to be our comforter. What an unworthy thing it is to grieve him who comes to us on purpose to give us consolation!  The Holy Ghost, in his infinite love and kindness toward me, has condescended to be my comforter; he does it willingly, freely, powerfully. What have I received from him! In the multitude of my perplexities how has he refreshed my soul! Can I live one day without his consolations? And shall I be regardless of him in that wherein he is concerned? Shall I grieve him by negligence, sin, and folly? Shall not his love constrain me to walk before him to all well-pleasing?” Eph.4:30

John Owen

Leave a Reply

