Reflection on my medical career 1977-2017

Revelation 1:7 reads, “I am Alpha and Omega, the first and the last:”, so the glorified ascended Lord Jesus Christ introduces himself to John as the initiator and creator of all things and the conclusion and goal of all things also.

16998099_10209809547814258_7893290405959896302_n

When I was faced with my university application form back in 1970, though not a believer, my heartfelt tears and cry for help to Jesus were answered when providentially I was led to apply for medicine at Edinburgh university. During my undergraduate studies I was converted and started attending a true church. My medical career encompassed many specialties initially, all in the Glasgow area from 1977 till 1993, then a job move to Bournemouth saw me devote myself to Emergency Medicine there for the next 15 years. Sadly no true church in Bournemouth so when a job arose in Belfast near enough to Covenant Protestant Reformed Church in Ballymena I applied and got the job. Having retired from full time work in ED at Belfast Royal in 2012 I continued doing locums till 27th January this year when I retired fully.

Medical life has not been easy and there have been many humiliating circumstances but I have derived a lot of satisfaction and enjoyed good relations with many colleagues. With no pressure now to earn more or cover empty shifts I can devote myself to, roughly in order of priority:

  • Fellowship with my covenant divine friend (Bible, prayer, studies, good books, periodicals)
  • Church work (caretaking, deacon, treasurer, writing)
  • Family home and Joseph’s business with animals
  • Keeping fit                                                                                                                                                                                   The Lord started my medical career, carried me through it, and now has brought it to an end so I thank him.
  • 16997927_10209803663427152_7374178690844419492_n
Leave a Reply

