Steadfast in purpose

untitled

     The Ballymena Academy motto TENAX PROPOSITI means steadfast in purpose. All people who study, who train for sporting competition or have set themselves some goal, need to be steadfast in purpose to achieve it. How about the Christian? Let’s look at Christ’s steadfastness.

In Luke 9:51 we read that he steadfastly set his face toward Jerusalem. Throughout his life he steadfastly obeyed Scripture and his purpose to glorify his Father, even when it meant suffering and death. Paul similarly, confronted by much suffering stated, “But none of these things move me, neither count I my life dear unto myself, so that I might finish my course with joy, and the ministry, which I have received of the Lord Jesus, to testify the gospel of the grace of God (Acts 20:24).

Likewise according to the Westminster Confession, our chief end is to glorify God and enjoy him forever. Our sovereign God and Father has a purpose for each of his children (Eph. 2:10). To accomplish this we must be steadfast in apostolic doctrine (Acts 2:42), steadfast in our service of God (I Cor.15:58) and steadfast in our resistance to Satan (I Pet.5:9). Thus this purpose encompasses our personal spiritual life, our life in church and our life in the world.

Leave a Reply

