Goodness and mercy for life!

Psalm 23 (KJV)

1 The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.

He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters.

He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.

Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over.

Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the Lord for ever.

images7tdi3g0f

As believers we know this Psalm so well in our heads but do we REALLY BELIEVE, are WE CONVINCED BEYOND DOUBT, that God’s goodness and mercy follow us, indeed go before us all the days of our lives?

Psalm 85:12 Yea, the Lord shall give that which is good; and our land shall yield her increase

This is what his covenant love means, see Jeremiah 32:40-41

40 And I will make an everlasting covenant with them, that I will not turn away from them, to do them good; but I will put my fear in their hearts, that they shall not depart from me.

41 Yea, I will rejoice over them to do them good, and I will plant them in this land assuredly with my whole heart and with my whole soul.

Listen to Robert Haldane..If all things work together for good, there is nothing within the compass of being that is not, in one way or other, advantageous to the children of God. All the attributes of God, all the offices of Christ, all the gifts and graces of the Holy Spirit, are combined for their good. The creation of the world, the fall and the redemption of man, all the dispensations of Providence, whether prosperous or adverse, all occurrences and events-all things, whatsoever they be-work for their good. They work together in their efficacy, in their unity, and in their connection. They do not work thus of themselves: it is God that turns all things to the good of His children. The afflictions of believers, in a peculiar manner, contribute to this end.

Robert Haldane (1764-1842)

And if any are not true believers in the LORD JESUS CHRIST who is the only saviour and good shepherd of his sheep, then you must repent of your sinful, selfish, wasted  life and put your trust in his finished work at Calvary and commit to follow him in a true church from here on!

Leave a Reply

