Song of Solomon 3:1-2

 

By night on my bed I sought him whom my soul loveth: I sought him, but I found him not.

I will rise now, and go about the city in the streets, and in the broad ways I will seek him whom my soul loveth: I sought him, but I found him not.

It is night for the church, the bride of Christ, the individual believer, because Christ is not(felt to be) present. The cause of this might be a bed of affliction, of darkness and desertion but most likely, a bed of carnal ease and security (Amos 6:1, 4) when she was in a cold or lukewarm frame. The word is actually “nights” and so she successively seeks her beloved in her own bed (not theirs as in 1:16 and 3:7). She needed to seek him fervently and diligently, not on her bed but in her closet or at public worship (Gill). Her situation mirrors Job’s in Job 23:3, 8, 9. Four times in as many verses she calls the groom “him whom my soul loveth” (echoed eternally in Rev. 1:5). We have the promises of Jeremiah 29:13 and Isaiah 26:9.

thL8563N9I

Job

I will rise now (like the prodigal in Luke 15:18) and seek him in Zion, the place where the saints congregate to worship. Often in fellowship we are comforted (Rom.1:12). But this is not always so. Only an encounter with him will satisfy! A true resolution (I will arise) is not just made but kept.

Despite looking in the right place she is still dependent on him sovereignly being found by her! But the promise stands..Ask, seek, knock!

 

Leave a Reply

