Song of Solomon 1:1-4

imagesE6CIRD6K

Chapter 1:1-7

THE BRIDE

“Let him kiss me.” A kiss is a token of intimacy (David and Jonathan) and of reconciliation (prodigal son, and Joseph and his brethren). His mouth is most sweet, unlike ours!

“For thy love is better than wine.”  His love is everlasting, passeth knowledge, greater love hath no man, it is the same love wherewith the Father loved the Son. Covenant love!

“Because of the savour of thy good ointments, thy name is as ointment poured forth.”  As Mary broke her costly box, God’s name is poured forth in Christ. The name is most precious (I Pet.2:7), of sweet odour (Eph.5:2, II Cor.2:14-16), compounded and of all fullness (Ex.30:23ff, Col.2:9), it heals, and nothing else was ever made like it (Acts 4:12). Surely this ointment speaks of his sanctifying healing power and anointing (Ps.133) Priceless gift engendering extravagant response.

“Draw me, we will run after thee.” Precede me, you are my forerunner (Heb.6:20). We look to him for needed help, we desire closer fellowship. He does draw us and go before us (Hos.11:4, Deut.1:33). We must fervently run after (I Cor.9:24-25, Rom.12:1) not before him (John 10:4, Prov.3:5-6). The divine husband leads his bride! We (the church) are the virgins (II Cor.11:2).

“The king hath brought me into his chambers.” The answer to the prayer is exceeded as we enter the holiest by the blood of Christ (Heb.10:19), we are made to “sit together in heavenly places in Christ Jesus” (Eph.2:6) to dwell in his courts (Ps.27:4) and in the secret place of the Most High (Ps.91:1). Our High Priestly King grants us daily audience and when we die we shall see his face (Rev22:4) as  the ultimate covenant purpose and blessing is realised.

“We will be glad and rejoice in thee, we will remember thy love more than wine.” Our rejoicing in him is vital (Neh.8:10, John 16:24, I Peter 1:8). We remember his love every Lord’s Supper.

imagesM300TJ8N

The Most Holy Place is now open to all God’s people as the veil was rent when Christ died granting them limitless access.

“The upright love thee.” Those with integrity (Prov.11:3).

“I am black but comely, O ye daughters of Jerusalem, as the tents of Kedar, as the curtains of Solomon.”  She is speaking to professing church members, she admits in herself she is totally depraved but in Christ she is comely (Ezek.16:14). The tents of Kedar were rough skins with no external beauty but Solomon’s curtains must have been beautiful and ornate.

” Look not upon me because I am black, because the sun hath looked upon me: my mother’s children were angry with me; they made me keeper of the vineyards, but mine own vineyard have I not kept.” Here we see persecution from friends and relatives (Matt.10:36) which may lead to the conviction of a believer’s shortcomings.

Tell me, O thou whom my soul loveth, where thou feedest, where thou makest thy flock to rest at noon: for why should I be as one that turneth aside by the flocks of thy companions?

++

The beloved bride longs for her spouse’s covenant love once again as it appears she has wandered off like sheep do. She will never find satisfaction apart from in her Good Shepherd’s green pastures.

 

Leave a Reply

