Friendship with God.

untitled

David and Jonathan.

God is a covenant-making God. He unconditionally, without our say so, covenants with us to make us his friends. He does not need us but we need him. He enters into covenant with us by sending our elder brother to die for our sins and then comes to indwell us by his Spirit, thus enabling the loving bond of perfection and of friendship between  himself and us, a friendship he already enjoys within the Trinity. John 15:13 -15 “Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends. Ye are my friends, if ye do whatsoever I command you. Henceforth I call you not servants; for the servant knoweth not what his lord doeth: but I have called you friends; for all things that I have heard of my Father I have made known unto you. Ye have not chosen me, but I have chosen you, and ordained you, that ye should go and bring forth fruit, and that your fruit should remain: that whatsoever ye shall ask of the Father in my name, he may give it you.”

Moses experienced this: Exodus 33:11 “And the LORD spake unto Moses face to face, as a man speaketh unto his friend. And he turned again into the camp: but his servant Joshua, the son of Nun, a young man, departed not out of the tabernacle.”

Solomon wrote of it typically in the mouth of his spouse in Song of Songs 5:16 “His mouth is most sweet: yea, he is altogether lovely. This is my beloved, and this is my friend, O daughters of Jerusalem.”

Abraham is the archetypal friend of God Genesis 15:7 and 17:7 with whom God unilaterally established his covenant as Isaiah tells us in 41:8, “But thou, Israel, art my servant, Jacob whom I have chosen, the seed of Abraham my friend.” James mentions it as well, James 2:23, “And the scripture was fulfilled which saith, Abraham believed God, and it was imputed unto him for righteousness: and he was called the Friend of God.”

Jesus himself is called the friend of tax-collectors and sinners, Matthew 11:19, “The Son of man came eating and drinking, and they say, Behold a man gluttonous, and a winebibber, a friend of publicans and sinners. But wisdom is justified of her children.”

What a privilege to have God almighty as your friend.

Leave a Reply

